

AITKIN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

June 11, 2024 9:00 a.m. Government Center Board Room

Regular Session Minutes

1.A CALL TO ORDER

Chair Wedel called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Attendee Name	Title	Status		
J. Mark Wedel	District #1	Present		
Laurie Westerlund	District #2	Present		
Travis Leiviska	District #3	Present		
Bret Sample	District #4	Present		
Michael Kearney	District #5	Absent		
Jessica Seibert	County Administrator	Present		
April Kellerman	Administrative Assistant	Present		

Commissioner Kearney was absent.

1.B PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

1.C APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the agenda.

RESULT: APPROVED (4 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

1.D Citizens Public Comment - None

2 CONSENT AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the Consent Agenda.

RESULT:

APPROVED (4 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

SECONDER:

Commissioner Travis Leiviska

A) Correspondence File-

May 28, 2024 - June 10, 2024

B) Approve County Board Minutes-

May 28, 2024

C) Approve Electronic Funds Transfers

Total \$7,068,919.70

D) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

School Advances 05.23.24

Townships \$3,515,417.60 Total \$3,515,417.60

E) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Auditor Warrants 05.24.24

General	\$10,858.87	Reserves	\$620.00	R&B	\$50,582.62	Taxes	\$9,250.87
						Total	\$71,312.36

F) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

ELAN 05.09.24

General	\$3,206.95	Reserves	\$56.58	Trust	\$1,965.66	Forest	\$286.85
LLCC	\$23.47	HHS	\$1,308.03			Total	\$6,847.54

G) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Property Tax Overpayments 05.31.24

Taxes \$17,682.25					Total	\$17,682.25	
-------------------	--	--	--	--	-------	-------------	--

H) Adopt Resolution-

Sheriff's Office Donation - AOES

I) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

05 31 24

General \$1,993.45	State \$2,690,958.30	Taxes \$16,880.14	LLCC \$75.00
Parks \$90.00			Total \$2,709,996.89

J) Adopt Resolution-

2024 State of MN Federal Supplemental Boating Safety Patrol Grant

K) Approve-

Community Corrections Sobriety Court Grant Agreement

L) Adopt Resolution-

County On, Off and Sunday Sale Liquor License - Ty & C, LLC

M) Adopt Resolution-

Residential Road Easement - Shane Brown

N) Adopt Resolution-

Application for Temporary On Sale Liquor License - Isle Lion's Club

Regular Agenda

3A Jim Bright - Facilities Coordinator

Motion to:

Award bid to Larson Plumbing and Heating for Fairgrounds water line replacement

RESULT: APPROVED (4 TO 0)
MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample
SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

BB Jim Bright – Facilities Coordinator

Motion to:

Award bid to Dutch's Electric for Fairgrounds Lighting

RESULT: APPROVED (4 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska
SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

3C Jim Bright – Facilities Coordinator

Motion to:

Request the use of Fiscal Recovery Funds

RESULT: APPROVED (4 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample

4A Dennis Thompson – Land Commissioner

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - Direct purchase of tax-forfeited land - Phillip Gerber

RESULT: APPROVED (4 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample
SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

Dennis Thompson – Land Commissioner

4B Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - Direct purchase of tax-forfeited land - Charles and Mary Ann Wark

RESULT: APPROVED (4 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample
SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

5A Erin Melz – Public Health Supervisor

Informational Only

2nd Reading - Updated Aitkin County Tobacco Ordinance

RESULT: INFORMATIONAL ONLY MOVER:

SECONDER:

Erin Melz – Public Health Supervisor Motion to: Adopt Resolution - Aitkin County Tobacco Ordinance Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska RESULT: APPROVED (3 TO 1) Commissioner Sample voting No 6A John Welle - County Engineer Informational Only **NEMNATP** Presentation RESULT: **INFORMATIONAL ONLY** MOVER: SECONDER: **Board of Commissioners** 7A Informational Only Commissioner Committee Reports AMC District 1 Meeting, ATV Committee, Legislative Luncheon, ECRL Board, Lakes and Pines, Economic Development, Jessica Seibert - County Administrator Informational Only Administrator Updates Dept. of Revenue Meeting, AMC District 1 Meeting, Reg 1:1's, Meeting with new Crow Wing County Administrator, Local 49 Negotiations, HHS all staff Meeting, ATV Committee, Economic Development, Coffee with Jessica, Interagency Meeting, Legislative Luncheon, Meeting with Brittany Sorenson Jessica Seibert – County Administrator 8B Closed Session - Labor Negoatiations Strategy, MN Statute 13D.03 Motion to Close Meeting Under MN Statute 13D.03 Subd.1(b) Labor Negotiations Motion made at 10:46 a.m. Commissioner Travis Leiviska MOVER: SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample Attendance of those present during Closed Sesseion J. Mark Wedel District #1 Laurie Westerlund District #2 District #3 Travis Leiviska District #4 **Bret Sample** Jessica Seibert County Administrator Human Resources Director Bobbie Danielson Motion to Reopen Meeting Motion made at 11:15 a.m. MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: **Motion to Adjourn** Motion made at 11:16 a.m. MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund **Next Meeting:** Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Jessica Seibert

County Administrator

J. Mark Wedel, Board Chair

Aitkin County Board of Commissioner